20
Jul
06

Mini-Rollercoasters!

308.jpgHey, who doesn’t love rollercoasters?  (OK, well maybe not everybody.  I’m still sick from my last ride.)  But even the biggest coaster-hater has to say “awww” at the sight of these mini-coasters.  The good folks at CoasterDynamix make these little baby coasters.  And the best part about it?  They actually work.  Well, you can’t ride in ’em or anything.  But they move on the track (and pretty smoothly if I might say so myself.)  There’s a video on their website here.

The coasters are pretty expensive.  The wooden coaster (which looks like a classic Cyclone-type model —  I’m sure that’s what they were going for) isn’t available yet, but the modern day steel themed Scorpion and the Dragon (pictured right) are $299 and $499, respectively.  Take a trip to the website and look at some of the pictures.  Th124.jpgese things are really detailed.

I was all set to clear off my coffee table and deal with the inconvenience of watching TV through this cage for the pleasure of having a running coaster…. until I did a bit more research.  The coasters don’t come assembled.  And by the looks of it, these things might require a degree in physical engineering.  Also if you look at the parts page, it’s even more intimidating.  They actually have something called “Coaster Lube” to make the coaster move on the tracks more easily.  Ah well.  Until I have a large home and a downstairs model room like that house that Lex Luthor inherited in Superman Returns, the baby coaster has to wait.

But how sweet is that?

Original link courtesy of Gizmodo.

CoasterDynamix info and images courtesy of CoasterDynamix – http://coasterdynamix.com

3 Responses to “Mini-Rollercoasters!”


  1. 1 Jeff T
    July 21, 2006 at 12:59 am

    You scared me at first, I was thinking oh great now there are mini rollercoasters out there for me to look like a chump and not ride. Then you had me again also pondering the possibility of getting one of these at home. Thanks for informing me about the existence of these. Maybe one day I’ll get one and so me and my kid can put together.

  2. July 23, 2006 at 7:45 am

    No problem! ….and good luck! Not sure if you went to the site, but these things look like a source of frustration to put together. But who knows — perhaps looks at such a complicated set and then putting it together using your minds together will become the new “fishing with dad.”

  3. July 17, 2007 at 9:50 pm

    good post thanks.


Leave a Reply

