11
Sep
06

Sun Light Lamp? For Sure.

A few days ago I took inventory of my work area to see if there was anything that needed updating. Of course, from a technology standpoint everything is as cutting edge as possible. Laptop? Check. Desktop PC? Check. Stereo Speakers w/ Subwoofer? Check. Multi-Function Printer/Fax/Scanner? Check. DSL/Cable Router? Check. Even the mouse and keyboard are pretty highly rated. But the strange thing is that the simple non-technical stuff tends to go unnoticed. Like my desk lamp.

The lamp that I had been using for almost fifteen years was perfectly fine. Well, I mean, it still works. But I felt as if I needed a change. While I was searching through Home Depot for a crowbar, I took a peek at their lighting department. Expectedly, they didn’t have a huge variety of desk lamps. Also, it was difficult to judge the quality of the desk lamps they had on display considering how well lit the store was. Nonetheless, there was one lamp that stood out from the rest. The Sun Light Lamp made by Lights of America.

Now, I’ve heard of the so called “flourescent sun-like” lamps before that are supposed to give off light equal to the “full spectrum of the sun”, but I thought it was probably just a gimmick. I mean, really — what’s the difference between this lamp and a 200-Watt bulb? Well apparently, plenty.

I was most familiar with the OTT-LITE lamps that Staples and other office product stores sell. I thought I would probably get one of those if I ever decided to upgrade my lamp. (But it’s early September and I’m not stepping foot anywhere near Staples if I don’t have to. It’s crowded and everything’s picked over by school kids with lists of crap to buy.) Expecting to only keep this lamp for a day or so before I boxed it up and returned it, I swiped my debit card and carried it out of Home Depot. The first lamp I carried home actually had broken bulbs and didn’t work. (What a hassle — had to bring it back to exchange it.) As soon as I plugged in the lamp and touched the base to turn it on, I knew I had (pardon the pun) “been in the dark” all those years before.

The light that this lamp emits has to be seen to be appreciated. It’s nothing like a high wattage bulb. The fluorescent bulb gives off a bright, yet much softer glow. My eyes aren’t in bad shape now, but had I spent those long nights typing using this lamp, they might be a little worse for the wear.

Initially, it was clear that the lamp was really bright, but perhaps not sun bright. That was until I was walking from my bedroom last night. I woke up after a brief power nap and walked down the hall towards my desk. From around the corner, the light that shined on my hallway actually did make me wonder whether the sun came out! (In actuallity, it was a dreary day and threatening rain. And my blinds were closed.)

This lamp is the real deal. Sadly I couldn’t even find a listing on the Home Depot site! (Perhaps they don’t spend much time on the site since the ‘grunts’ are used to coming in to the store to pick up lumber and nails?) I’m certain that the other “fluorescent sun-simulating lamps” produce results that are similar. The price was reasonable — under $40 bucks — and I’m happy with the performance. Consider one of these if you’re in the market.

Now the only thing I wonder is whether I can play Boktai under this thing without having to go outside.

11 Responses to “Sun Light Lamp? For Sure.”


  1. March 27, 2014 at 10:52 pm

    * Over 70% who completed a Straighter – Line course felt it made them more likely to complete college.

    It all plays into the overall convenience factor of attending online college courses in general.
    * Greater overall satisfaction (majority more satisfied with Straighter – Line courses; 90%
    more or equally satisfied).

  2. March 28, 2014 at 12:02 am

    Going to college in order to take IT training courses also allows
    people to obtain a degree in information technology.
    Associate’s degrees only take two years to acquire, and this type
    of degree also gives people a very strong foundation of IT knowledge.
    They can assist you to explore your various
    education options and recommend institutions that will match your career
    goals.

  3. May 15, 2014 at 12:49 pm

    Do you have a spam problem on this website; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us
    have created some nice methods and we are looking to trade
    solutions with others, be sure to shoot me an email if interested.

  4. June 28, 2014 at 12:55 am

    Aw, this was an exceptionally good post. Finding the
    time and actual effort to produce a good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate a
    lot and never seem to get nearly anything done.

  5. August 29, 2014 at 6:14 am

    Light this time is reflected on inclusions positioned parallel with each other.
    A black diamond bangle pairs with nearly everything.
    I am free of generational beliefs that hold
    me down.

  6. September 4, 2014 at 1:26 am

    Wow, that’s what I was looking for, whawt
    a data! present here at thios web site, thanks admin of this website.

  7. October 1, 2014 at 12:35 am

    When thinking about buying yourself jewelry with precious stones in it, please take them into consideration. 2012 is going
    to be a huge year for hair jewellery. Benzyol hydrogen peroxide is carrying un-provisions makes use of, just
    too: in line with the U.

  8. October 6, 2014 at 11:20 pm

    Ancient Egyptians used Azurite to heighten Spiritual communication with their
    Gods and Goddesses, soothing the Soul along its physical
    realm journey. This made Murano glass extremely durable and long-lasting with colors that would never
    fade and patterns that would not change over time,
    and thus it was one of the most sought-after components of interior d.

    The gold recovery should be guaranteed and at the same time,
    the cyanide consumption should be reduced as low as possible.

  9. November 18, 2014 at 8:37 am

    They cost less to run than incandescent grow lamps do as
    well. If you are growing leafy plants, blue light regulates this
    growth. They produce the two main wavelengths that plants need for their
    growth, which are the blue light and the red light.


Leave a Reply

