18
Sep
06

Conclusion: People Really Love J.B. (Former Fox NFL Sunday Host James Brown)

j_brown.jpg When I posted the story about James Brown no longer hosting Fox NFL Sunday, it was simply a reaction out of love for someone who helped make my Sundays a bit brighter. You never realize what you have until it’s gone. As much as I was comfortable with J.B., had you asked me whether someone else could step in and do every bit as great a job, I’d probably say, “Well, it’ll take some time, but eventually, possibly so.” Watching this new team as they attempt to establish a rythm is kind of painful. I don’t want to rule them out yet. After all, they’ve only had two weeks of regular season coverage together, but initially it looks like they have a really long way to go.

Prior to last week, my best day on Random Digital Musings was 81 hits — and that was a day when I sent a story in to Digg.com and folks were basically coming to the site to read it. (My story never got more than 6 Diggs — something’s fixed over there! :-)) But nonetheless, I never created the site for a mass market appeal. I’m simply blogging my passions. And Football isn’t really one of my extreme passions. But I felt the need to post something about my man J.B.

Well, apparently lots of folks feel the way that I do. Sunday was my highest traffic day ever. (Well, I’ve only been going since July.) It was higher than the previous day by almost double. And Sunday is usually a very slow traffic day. But the evidence is clear — folks tuned in to see J.B. and, like myself, almost fell out of their seat to see some other dude.

Anyway, as an addendum to the original story, I’d like to direct folks to this link on the website of The New York Post where they explain the situation a bit more. It really sounds like a mess. Basically Jim Buck and Curt Menefee (former Fox New York Sportscaster) will share the role between the morning show and the evening post game wrap-up.

I’ll give the new Fox guys some time to settle in and work on their timing (and more than likely I won’t even notice after a few months). I have to say that Thanksgiving without tuning in to Fox for the Lions game and seeing J.B.’s wonderful smile and charm (unless I watch the CBS show) certainly won’t be the same.

…and thanks for the traffic, J.B.

Link to story on The New York Post

3 Responses to “Conclusion: People Really Love J.B. (Former Fox NFL Sunday Host James Brown)”


  1. 1 Traci
    October 1, 2006 at 2:04 pm

    I agree with you. I thought the guy who replaced him on Fox is a twit. They don’t have chemistry. I LOVED JB with HOWIE and TERRY – you could tell they really, genuinely respected and liked one another.
    At first I thought JB was on assignment – but after this morning (week 4) when I did not see him, I started surfing the channels until I found him on CBS.
    My football experience is not the same without JB. He is someone I can trust, and is VERY knowledgeable and personable. Sorry FOX…you broke up a good thing! CBS – i’m on board.

  2. January 21, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    The FOX pre-game just isnt’ the same without the REAL JB. Joe Buck doesn’t do anything for me. Sad.

  3. March 5, 2010 at 1:44 am

    The response to national disaster is noble but it’s a damn shame that so many citizens take advantage of the sad situations.

    I mean everytime there is an earthquake, a flood, an oil spill – there’s always a group of heartless people who rip off tax payers.

    This is in response to reading that 4 of Oprah Winfreys “angels” got busted ripping off the system. Shame on them!
    http://www.cbsnews.com/blogs/2009/08/19/crimesider/entry5251471.shtml


Leave a Reply

