03
Oct
06

Pzizz.com – Your New Digital Sleeping Aid??

pzizz.jpgOK – straight off, I’m not recommending this. I just came across it and found it to be interesting. Pzizz.com has basically one focus — to try and help you sleep. It’s a well established fact that a midday siesta can help to make you more effective throughout the balance of the day. Well, these folks are offering a product to help you along with this.

Pzizz is basically a concept, but it comes in the form of both a software and hardware solution. The software solution seems like a simple mp3/media player (except for the fact that it only plays “pzizz” files.) The hardware solution is slightly bigger than an iPod and appears to play the same files that the software solution plays.

There’s a “trial nap” offered in the form of an mp3 on the website. Skeptically, I downloaded it. However, I didn’t “lay down and get in a comfortable position for sleep” as the website advised. I’m way too much of a conspiracy theorist to just let myself be lulled into listening to anything. (The power of suggestion is way too strong.) So I basically listened to the mp3. Seems like a bit of a gimmick to me. A gentleman with a really relaxing voice begins talking to you and offers gentle “hints” about the advantages of sleep. As he talks, bells play in the background, occasionally alternating with nature sounds, birds chirping and oceans crashing. The “trial nap” is 30 minutes. To the best that I could tell, it seems pretty safe. (Didn’t hear any ‘subliminal’ voices when I kicked the volume up….but then again, would I hear them at all?) Perhaps I’ll give this a try if I need a nap someday. However….

…I’m not so sure that I’ll actually be buying Pzizz. The software comes in two versions — the “Energizer” module and the “Sleep” module. The Energizer module contains “power naps” that allow you to sleep for between 10 and 40 minutes. The Sleep module is targeted towards those who are looking for help sleeping through the night. The Energizer module is $39 and the Sleep module is $59. (Yeah, I know.) The hardware version is $147. (For about the same price you can get a 2GB iPod Nano and be able to play Lawrence Welk if you need to sleep).

Seems a bit expensive for me (at least for something like this) but if you’re tossing and turning or find yourself dragging through the rest of the afternoon, perhaps you should consider it. At the very least you can go over to Pzizz.com and give their “trial nap” a try — over here. (I’d be curious to hear your experiences.)

One disclaimer — if you “pzizz” yourself to sleep and for some reason you don’t wake up on time for work…..or, perhaps don’t wake up at all, please don’t come tracking me down. I’ll just tell you to go pzizz yourself.

4 Responses to “Pzizz.com – Your New Digital Sleeping Aid??”


  1. October 9, 2006 at 1:42 pm

    Hi Devron

    Thanks for mentioning pzizz!

    I just wanted to confirm the pricing…

    We currently charge $39.95 for the software and energizer plugin and $19.95 for the sleep plugin – not $39 and $59!

    We’ll be launching version 2.0 of our software in the next week or so and the pricing will change at that point : $29.95 for each plugin.

    I hope this helps clarify things?

    Try the free soundtrack for a few days and tell me what you think – I’d love to hear your feedback! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Best wishes – and happy pzizzing!

    Edward

  2. 2 C Breen
    November 9, 2006 at 8:49 am

    Can you send me some information on where I can purchase the sleep aids in the UK and how to use them if you dont have an MP3 player?
    Thanks

  3. January 27, 2007 at 6:24 pm

    These are good solutions and ideas. I have to say that I sew a great post and a smart writer behind it!

  4. April 12, 2010 at 11:55 pm

    I heart pzizz 100% Thanks pzizz for helping me overcome my new mommy-hood sleeplessness ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

