07
Jan
07

January is a Great Time to be a Geek (The CES is nigh!)

(I know it’s been awhile since I’ve posted. My goal is to try and get something out at least twice a week. I appreciate all of the great support and comments for RDM in 2006 and looking ahead to 2007 and beyond, I know that there are great things in store. Stay tuned.) And one of the ways that I know 2007 is going to be great is because….

January brings us the CES!! (Or Consumer Electronics Show, to the non-tech savvy.) January for most is a time of trying to stick to resolutions and starting new projects. But for the tech world, January is the time when all of the electronics companies announce the release of new products! (So basically, if you’re looking at buying that new plasma TV or MP3 player, hold off for a few weeks.) CES gives us a look at many of the electronics that we’ll be buying in the next year. Among the companies with a big presence this year will be Microsoft, Sony, Panasonic, Sharp, LG and, my personal favorite, Samsung.

There’s no way that I could do justice to covering even a tenth of CES products. I’ll leave that to the pros. For great coverage, check out Engadget and Gizmodo. They practically drain themselves out to give us a front row seat of all of the best that the show has to offer. Hopefully someday I’ll be at the center of that coverage.

Check back for coverage of some of the major announcements at CES. My sources say that this one will be particularly notable for an announcement coming from Microsoft around something non-Zune and non-Windows related. I have other leads that say that it might have something to do with a “Home Server Application” of some sort.

Besides CES, we have a few other events to look forward to. The launch of Windows Vista. The release of additional games for the PS3 (finally.) And the event that I’m most excited about — the one that makes January a time to really get excited — is a little show called MacWorld. I have a big prediction about MacWorld that is completely off the wall (but more on that in the following post.)

Ah…January. What a time to be alive for those who gravitate towards the gadgets.

(CES logo courtesy of Kotaku.com)

0 Responses to “January is a Great Time to be a Geek (The CES is nigh!)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

